top of page

9D8N Un-peak-able Sabah

Lesson learnt from this trip: you need LUCK in your life time, including travelling

Day 1 Kota Kinabalu Town

Air flight RM335.74 (return including luggage)

Car Rental RM400 (RM100 per day)

Petrol RM130 (for 4 days)

Fook Yuen Jalan Gaya - RM22.40

Tanjung Aru Railway Station to get train ticket. The ticket counter is closed thus we go to the customer service counter. Even the info can be find out from Internet, the officer explain to me very in detail. Too bad, the bus ticket can't pre-book online nor buying in advance, you can only buy on your travel day itself.

Lunch at Kim's house

The house was built by her father, truly amazing! And of course, Kim's family, too!

Filipino Market

Literally, pinoi all around

Tip: they charge base on the language u speak, speak Bahasa Malayu!

Tanjung Aru

Dinner at Anjung Perdana Tanjung Aru - RM162.00

The seafood are fresh!

After send Kim home, we go to Suria Sabah for [Logan] movie.

Stay: Basic hotel RM71.70 per room per night Rating:*

Weird smell and I can vaguely smell the taste of saliva from pillow

Day 2 Kinabalu Park

Tips to hike Mt KK

  1. Hiking stick

  2. Thermal wear

  3. Waterproof jacket & glove

  4. Thermos flask

Mt KK Package RM269 per pax, 1 night accommodation and 3 meals included.

Guide RM230 (can share by max 5 people)

Must depart before 10am

Timpohon gate, transport 5km to Kinabalu Park

Transport fee

We start around 9am

Hungry

2pm and we are finally arrive!

Loke is wet and I worry he fall sick so I prepare for him to take shower first. After settle him down, my turn, the warm water is so, after few minutes, the water turn ICE WATER! I scream out loud until I wash all the shampoo away. The cold water splash out!

Too cold too tired

Nearly missed out our lunch

Dinner

Happy birthday Mr Loke

Stay: Lemaing Hut Rating:*

Ya you got no choice at mountain but Sanctuary Lodge is much more warm compared to Lemaing Hut.

Day 3 Kundasang

0200 Wake up for breakfast

It is -1 Celsius!

Meet my guide and he told me "Today's gate might close, we are unable to get up to low peak."

I was like "Nah, you just try to fool me"

And at 0315, ranger officially announce gate close due to heavy rain.

I used half an hour to comfort my moody.

0900 Descend

no more water

Singaporean father and daughter "donate" water

Appreciate

And yeah, we made it.

1400 100 plus and maggie hot cup.

Check in to Dream World Resort and of course the first thing is to shower. Ok, the water is warm enough for half of your shower time only =.=

89 station

Sinalau Bakas

Stay: Dream World Resort Rating:**

Only the view is best

Day 4 Kundasang

Desa Dairy Farm

Poring hot spirng. Tree top walk.

Dinner

Stay: Halo Hostel

Day 5 Beaufort

Yii Siang Ngiu Chap

Ka Yuan Pork Noodles

IMAGO to get the GoPro charger

Train to Beaufort

The hotel is fully booked.

We walked to rainbow hotel. The staff is very kind. He tell us that this area is quiet and the area of another side of the river is more happening. Then he intro some hotel to us but too bad all was fully booked.

Y&Y Restaurant Bistro - RM55.00

Stay: Rainbow Hotel Rating:**

Typical old but clean budget hotel.

Day 6 Tenom

Majority tourists (I would say 99%) are go for rafting, and the remaining 1% is me and Mr Loke :D

Beaufort mee

Bus to get back to the city

Welcome Seafood Restaurant - RM700++

Yolo Waterfront Kota Kinabalu - RM90++

Stay: JSIA Hotel Rating:***** HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Day 7 Mantanani Island

The wave is so strong and we are all wet! Luckily a guide is keeping his eye on us, he stop the boat to and ask us to change to the seat at opposite direction.

I pointed to the resort in front of us and tell Mr Loke "I wish we stay here tonight"

We continue walking toward to Palm Beach Resort where the local directed us. First, the staff "welcoming" us with a very shock face. Because they do not have any overnight guest tonight.

Then they keep asking us:"which boat you are taking?" "what is the name of the boat"

I don't know, I really don't know. Like the tour guide didn't introduce himself (and I don't even know who is my guide), the boat got no name as well. I just know the name of the agency I booked.

They keep comfort us and say will settle for us.

After 30 mins later, they talk to me very calm:"We didn't receive any order from any agency"

I stand beside him, ask him to call again to the number I gave him, then only he said "You had switched to Touch Bornoe"

At the same time, a staff from Touch Bornoe come and "collect" us.

I was like "what you had done for the past 30 mins?"

My dream come true! We are staying at the hotel that I pointed! Hooray!

Before check in, you have to change and go for the 1st snorkeling.

Carol reef snake

Lunch

Check in. Take shower. Nap

Overslept. We missed the tea time.

Stay: Touch Bornoe Island Resort Rating:***

A hotel will cause you late!

Day 8 Mantanani Island

The wind is strong

Sunrise

Overslept again

Check out

We don't go for the snorkeling, since we cannot have a proper shower. We mingle around the island.

great conversation with the girl from Yunnan

Dinner at Little Italy - RM200++

Signal hill

Stay: JSIA Hotel Rating:*****

Day 9 Back to the jungle city

Fook Yuen Asia City - RM20.00

I have been told that the Fook Yuen I visited on first day is not the main branch.

Kedai Kopi Wah Juan Zhu Chap (Pork offal) - RM30++

Look at the mee portion!

Ubering to airport

It takes less than 5 mins

Special thanks to Josephine Kiun, Kelvin Lee and Kee Howe

Total spend: RM2199 per pax

NEXT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page